Alex is 8 Months Old!!

so serious

so serious

Eight months already! My baby keeps growing! This month was special because Alex shared his 8 month birthday with my 32 year birthday (no, I’m not afraid to acknowledge my age)! My baby and I were both born on a Thursday the 13th. 🙂

I’m typing this on my phone, which is super tedious, but I really want to get this written. I’ll have to add in the camera pictures later, but I think I have some phone pics I can put in now. (update: my husband reminded me that he brought his work computer- duh- so I’m using it finish up.  Way better.)

I just noticed that a lot of these pictures feature either Alex’s duda (paci) or him stuffing food in his mouth…. oops!  Oh well.  That’s true to life.  These pics are mostly from the past week on our vacation where he’s done a lot of eating (everyone wants to feed him, my goodness) and he’s needed a fair bit of soothing with all the new stuff and new people he’s been seeing lately.

family photo (I was closing my eyes- oops!)

family photo (I was closing my eyes- oops!)

image

New Experiences:

Alex had his first plane ride last week! My husband had to take a business trip and it just happened to be very close to some of his relatives that Alex and I hadn’t met yet, so we tagged along and made a vacation of it (and I SOOOOO needed a vacation, let me tell you!). We were wondering how the flight would go and it was excellent! No crying save a bit in the back of the plane as Daddy was attempting to rock him to sleep. Alex loved being able to climb bank and forth over Mommy and Daddy and look all over. He also enjoyed the new toys Mommy brought for him. The plane ride was 4 hours long, and we were so proud of him for being a superb traveler. The car ride from the airport was another matter…..

destroying SkyMall

destroying SkyMall

Alex still HATES riding in the car! Hates it. If he’s really exhausted and been awake for a long time (4 hours, which is really too long), he can fall asleep, but if he wakes up and is still in the car….. Wailing and gnashing of teeth! 😦

Alex has met a BUNCH of new relatives this week!  He two sets of great aunts and uncles, my husbands two cousins and a fiance of one of them, my husband’s cousins’ cousin and his wife and three children, his great aunt’s sister and her husband and…. did I forget anyone?

sittin' in the hot tub with Daddy

sittin’ in the hot tub with Daddy

My husband’s relatives have a pool and Alex has very much enjoyed taking dips in it! He loves to splash with his hands, and he grins with glee when we toss him up and let him splash in the way down or when we bounce him in the water (bouncing or jumping is one of his favorite things to do, on land or sea).

at the beach, before freaking out

at the beach, before freaking out

Alex got to experience the ocean and the beach for the first time, but he found the whole thing a little overwhelming. It didn’t help that he wanted to nurse but was too distracted by the chaos to really do so. He was also tired. All that plus the cold water, weird sand, bright sun, and many people and dogs (it was the dog beach), resulted in one freaked out sobbing baby who wanted his mama. 😦 It’s ok, Alex. We’ll try the beach another time.

Uncle's fiance may want children now.....

Uncle’s fiance may want children now…..

Growing and Developing:

Alex switched to size 12 month clothes at the beginning of August.  When I saw how well they fit him, I couldn’t believe it!  He’s a big boy!  He’s gotten all the hand-me-downs from his cousin (who is now 6), so we have many storage bins full of clothes waiting for Alex to wear.  I’m really thankful to have these clothes too because it has saved us lots of time and money and they are so. cute.  Especially the 12 month ones.  It was like Christmas going through the bags.  I really hope Alex stays in this size through at least the beginning of fall so he can wear the adorable sweaters. 🙂

Alex has really been experimenting with his voice lately, making all kinds of sounds (loud ones), and he makes an “eh” sound that seems to be designed to get my attention. He loves it when I look over at him and mimic the sound!

grass!!!

grass!!!

Alex’s top two front teeth have broken through! I am pretty sure the two on either side of those are coming in as well, but it’s so hard to get a good look! So far he seems to be handling teething VERY well, which makes me a huge fan of the amber teething necklace because that’s all we’ve used thus far.

Alex is crawling like a pro, climbing over things, and standing up on anything he can find! He is becoming so good at moving his body, and he can do everything except stand without assistance and walk!

One cute new thing Alex started doing this month is to crawl while holding something in his hand.  It seems like he always is holding something now, and he can even stand up while holding things- in both hands!  I love it.

cozying up with Auntie

cozying up with Auntie

Alex suddenly began to go from hands and knees to sitting and we were surprised at how quickly he mastered that. It’s so cute to watch him find stuff to play with and then sit down to examine it. He just wants to explore explore explore all day long, and we are learning about the words “no” and “don’t touch” because of course the most dangerous thing in the room is the most interesting!  He always pauses when I tell him no, and he oc\cassionally turns away, but I usually need to still “help him obey” (I heard that phrase from someone in my mommy support group on Facebook, and I love it).  I try to give him as much “free play” as I can each day so he can release all his energy. He’s becoming more content to play alone but he wants me to be close by and accessible in case he wants to check in. People comment that Alex “never stops” and it’s true! The only time he is still is when he’s sleeping!

wrastling the bear!

wrastling the bear!

Sleeping:
Speaking of sleep, learning to crawl really did a number on Alex’s sleep! He’d wake up during the night and be on his hands and knees trying to crawl in his sleep! It was worse for us than any developmental leap has been, but since he mastered crawling things have been a lot better. For awhile there he was waking an hour or two after bedtime and being awake for 3 hours, ugh!

He can now crawl over to find me when he wakes during the night and wants to nurse or just to be close. He often wants to just lay on me, which is really cute even though it makes it more difficult for me to sleep! He’s going through another developmental leap right now so I understand that it makes him want to be sure that I’m still there.

image

We’re still on vacation right now in California. When we got here I was excited to see that they’d set up a floor bed for us. We’d briefly discussed putting our bed in the floor at home since Alex is crawling now and I had been putting a huge pillow barricade up at every nap time just to make sure he didn’t fall off the bed. I was so happy that we’d get the chance to try it out here. Well, we love it! Alex can crawl in and out of bed and we don’t have to worry about him hurting himself. We have a queen sized mattress and a twin mattress next to each other, which gives us extra space- yay! Anyway, we plan to make a floor bed in our room when we get home.

kitchen time with the guys

kitchen time with the guys

Nursing:
Still nursing strong! Alex still gets hungry about every 2.5 hours, even at night. I’m very happy with our nursing relationship. I do look forward to Alex being able to sign “milk” to me though! Probably my only complaint is that I still can’t nurse in public very well because Alex will stop to look around so much. Oh well. He nursed just fine on the plane, thankfully! I look forward to many more months of nursing. Right now I’m hoping we can nurse until he’s 2.

backyard by the pool

backyard by the pool

Eating:
This kid loves food more than ever! He’s tried at least 70 different foods now and has never refused anything! We’re excited to have a baby who loves food as much as we do. The only bad thing is that we can’t really eat in front of him without giving him some or he gets very offended. Sometimes we can pop a few bites in his mouth and it’s ok, but he generally prefers to feed himself so he can get the full sensory (read: squishy) experience and that’s MESSY! It’s the one downside to baby led weaning.

Uncle feeding Alex his first fig

Uncle feeding Alex his first fig

eating with Uncle

eating with Uncle

eating watermelon by the pool

eating watermelon by the pool

Health:

No colds this month!  Alex has been healthy and happy.  He does have some pretty chapped cheeks (probably from all the teething drool?) and a dry red spot on his hand that is probably either eczema or ringworm.  I get similar spots sometimes and never bothered to figure out what they were.  I’m treating both with the Burt’s Bees ointment since the second ingredient is coconut oil and it seems to be helping.

1148959_10152166929709832_1528326743_nThis morning while Alex was still in pj’s, we took a walk around the neighborhood.  Well, it turned out to be really hot and we got a little lost (we actually had to navigate back- so embarrassing), and it looks like poor Alex got a heat rash.  😦  I guess it will fade within a few days.

image

——- ——- ——- ——- ——-

Alex, you are such a sweetheart and you bring smiles to the faces of all around you. I love to make you laugh, to tickle your back and watch that cute squirmy thing you do. I love to watch you eagerly and fearlessly embrace new foods, and I love to see you smile at me from across the room. Your wiggly little hugs may be my favorite thing in the works right now, and you pulling on my lip isn’t the worst way in the world to wake up. I love to watch you with your daddy, both of you enjoying each other so much. We love you, precious Alexander!

image

Leave a Reply

