Alex IS Five Months Old- TODAY!

Wow, I can’t even believe that in one month my baby will be half a year old already, that we’ll start offering him some solid foods, and that he could be rolling, sitting up and/or crawling!  Five months ago, this point in time seemed like light years away.  It’s come so quickly and so slowly all at once.  I’ll be honest, sometimes I still feel like a brand new mommy who has NO idea what she’s doing.  This mommy thing is serious business.  Even if the first entire year is super tough, though, we are actually almost halfway through it already, so that’s something.

first time on a swing!

first time on a swing!

At 5 months, my little chunk is 17.5 pounds, 28 inches, and wiggly like a worm!  He’s so into everything.  He wants to see everything, touch/grab everything, put everything into his mouth, put his mouth on everything…  He doesn’t want to let a moment or a thing pass him by.  He’s wearing 9 month sized clothes (but can still wear smaller pants because he’s got stubby legs, haha!).

P1020086

P1020242

Alex can: roll onto his tummy from his back, twist his body around to look behind him, tilt his head back to look behind him when he’s lying on his back,  grab his feet with both hands and rock back and forth, raise himself up partway on his arms when he’s on his tummy, sit very well with a little support, sit for short periods of time on his own by leaning forward, stand while someone holds onto his hands (and he LOVES to do this!), catapult himself onto his tummy from a sitting position, wiggle around sideways when he’s on his back, and raise himself from a reclining to a sitting position (it’s especially cute when he does this in his bathtub!).

P1020053 P1020054

Alex loves bath time, walks outdoors, silly voices, and chewing on our hands.  Speaking of chewing, he wants to chew EVERYTHING, especially fabric, stuffed animals, and people.  I’m sure he’s teething because I can see he outlines of his teeth below his gums.  Also, he’s been drooling like crazy for a couple of months now.  So far it hasn’t been too bad.  As you can see in some of the pictures, he has been wearing an amber teething necklace for about a month now.  Who knows if it’s working.  I guess we’ll see what happens when a tooth actually pops through.

He's been trying to stuff all his fingers in his mouth lately

He’s been trying to stuff all his fingers in his mouth lately

The spitup is juuuuuust now beginning to subside- WOO HOO!  I’m pretty excited about this.  Drool and slobber has definitely taken its place, but that doesn’t gross me out as much as spitup does!  We still keep a bib on him most of the time, but he did actually go to church without one this weekend for the first time.  That meant that we could actually see his cute clothes- yay!

The crazed look in his eyes cracks me up!

The crazed look in his eyes cracks me up!

Alex is very good at grabbing things and getting them to his mouth.  We really have to watch out for what is within his reach!  He has begun to grab for our food at the table and sometimes gets very upset if he isn’t allowed to reach it, haha! 

P1020082

He has a ready smile and it’s easy to get him to laugh now!  What a fantastic sound!  Every once in awhile he’ll think something really random is so funny and we can really get him laughing.  He loves it when his daddy talks in funny voices or his mommy acts really silly (who are we kidding, I do it a lot…).

P1020060

His hair is beginning to grow back in, slowly but surely!

Waking up from an awesome nap

Waking up from an awesome nap

He still sleeps in our bed and sleeps very well that way.  He nurses probably a couple of times a night.

P1020068

[Ok, I really need to write a sleep post because I always have a ton to say about it, but who knows if that will actually get written.  I actually started one about 2 months ago and never finished it.  Meh.  I’m obsessed with Alex’s sleep to the point of insanity and I think about it all the time.  I also spend a lot of time actually helping him sleep, and that doesn’t mix well with typing, so….    This jumble of words will have to do for now.]

SLEEP has actually been a huge issue lately, though, mainly because our trip to Texas totally messed us up.  Maybe it was the chaos or maybe it was his developmental leap, but for the past month sleep has been screwy and I’m still trying to figure out what’s going on.  It’s been a massive source of frustration for me because I thought I had things under control there for awhile.  The main issue was that Alex began going to bed later and later!  When he didn’t go to sleep until 12:45am one night, but I finally had had enough and seriously tried to think of a solution. He’d also been getting up late (10 or 11am) and I knew I probably should “wake” him up earlier, but I didn’t think that was the only problem.  I think I’ve finally realized that he is old enough that he needs a longer awake time before bed (up until a few weeks ago he was always sleeping about 90 minutes after he’d last woken up).  He’d been doing 3 hours awake and then going to sleep (and we’d think it was for the night), but then waking up after 45 minutes and not being able to go back to sleep for 3 hours or longer!  That can really add up to a late late night for all of us.  So, now we try to give him more like 4 hours before bed.  It’s a work in progress.  The basic issue really is that he’s transitioning to being able to stay awake for longer periods of time and we have to really pay attention to the cues he’s giving us for when he’s ready for naps and night.  Sometimes he’s ok for longer and sometimes he’s not.  He’s also been taking only 45 minute naps all day, whereas before he’d take longer ones.  Again, I think it’s because he’s ready for longer awake times.  Just today, I really just decided to relax and go with the flow (I read a really crunchy website last night that basically scolded me for thinking we needed any kind of schedule, so today I’m all free love and flowers and peace and stuff) and he ended up waking up at 8am (when my husband opened the shades, heh), napping at 10am for 2.5 hours (and I slept too, so YAY!), napping at 3:30 for now 1.75 hours and counting!  So.  That’s more like it.  I think he’ll wake up soon and will then probably go to bed around 9pm, which still seems super late to me.  Maybe he’s not ready for a longer night yet, though.  How should I know.  Maybe he’s always going to be a crazy night owl like his mom.  Anyway, sometimes we seriously miss the weeks near the beginning when we’d hold Alex for hours at night and watch TV together while he slept and then we’d just take him upstairs when we were ready for bed.  No can do anymore!

He has a sleep line, haha!

He has a sleep line, haha!

Nursing is fabulous!  Alex is often too distracted to nurse well when we’re somewhere new or when there is ANYTHING even remotely interesting to look at, but that’s the only problem really.  For awhile there he’d wait until he was famished and then suddenly be crying so hard that he couldn’t even stand to wait for my milk to let down, but that’s getting a little better now, I think.  If I take my entire boob out and wave it around while he’s in a sitting position (so he can make sure he doesn’t miss anything!) I can usually remind him that he’s hungry.  That’s tough to do in public, though.  He’s been nursing a whole lot the past couple of days (12-13 times a day!), so maybe he’s ramping up for a growth spurt??  I do need to make sure that I’m eating enough each day, though, because I’m definitely back down to my pre-pregnancy weight (and maybe even a little less), even with all the milk.

P1020034

A couple of things I forgot to mention: Alex’s new thing, just for the past couple of days, is sticking out his tongue.  I guess he just realized he can do it, and he does it every chance he gets now!

Alex with his tongue out

Alex with his tongue out

Again, the tongue!

Again, the tongue!

He also has begun to really experiment with his voice.  He make high-pitched noises that can get really shrill.  He also has special noises that he only makes when I’m trying to help him get to sleep- variations of pffffffft, tttthhhhhhh, and a sorta creepy zombie growling sound- uuuuuuugggggggh.  That last one always makes us laugh.  The Pffffft sounds kinda annoyed me a lot for awhile because it would sound like he was totally mocking my attempts to get him to sleep.  😛

P1020227

He's still waking up a bit

He’s still waking up a bit

We love love love our little angel.  He brings us so much joy, and I can’t get enough of his sweet cuddles.  This past month has been a really fun age, and I look forward to the months to come.  Alex is such a sweetheart, and melts my heart more every day!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kendra
    May 14, 2013 @ 23:29:06

    Soooo adorable. Loved this post, he’s so big! A real love baby now! Haha. On sleep – isla is 3 and I’m STILL obsessed with her sleep to the point of insanity. I don’t know when it’ll stop. I was super scheduled with her, and now I’m super crunchy and flowers with Gracie. But still obsessed.

    The nursing pic – ADORABLE. but I’m a sucker for nursing pics.

    Glad to see some pictures and to hear how things are going. You are doing a great job, you’re a great mom!

    Reply

    • travelnole
      May 16, 2013 @ 01:19:44

      Wow, thanks so much! It’s always wonderful to hear encouragement from other moms. It’s also nice to know I’m not the only one obsessed with my kid’s sleep! I’m obsessed with my own sleep, too, so I guess it makes sense. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

