Sick

Being sick is so much worse when you’re a mother, and infinitely worse when you’re a breastfeeding mother because you can’t take the NyQuil Escape.  Today, with it’s horrid sinus pressure and pain, has definitely been the worst.  I’m hoping this phase will last just one day, but then we have the Runny Nose to look forward to.  That’s a big problem because #1 Alex jolts in his sleep when I blow it and then #2 he wants to hold my hand next to his face to help him stay asleep….  I just feel like if he breathes in snot fumes that he’ll get sick for sure, you know?  And that is my main fear- that Alex will get sick.  So far he seems ok, and I hope that means he’s escaped the plague.  If he was going to get sick I think he already would have.  My father-in-law got it on Saturday, my husband got it on Monday, I got it on Wednesday…. Since we’re at Saturday already I hope we’re in the clear.  It definitely sucks to be sick myself, though.  If I lay down (which is all I really want to do), my sinuses feel like they’re going to explode.  I’ve been taking lots of vitamin C, echinacea tea, spicy foods, and a hot steam shower this afternoon (which did wonders and I wish I could live in there for a day).

Anyway, not much else to say except that I’m miserable and just made a fool of myself by whining for my husband to stay with Alex for his nap since I kept waking him up.  Only I didn’t say it very well.  This is one of those times when I wish he napped well alone, but he’s been having a ton of trouble falling asleep recently and all his naps were shorter than usual today because I screwed them up.  😦

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kendra
    May 07, 2013 @ 23:53:24

    hope you feel better!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

