Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow: Postpartum Hair Loss

That title sounds like the name of a cheesy hair salon. If only it was. When I wrote my postpartum tell-all, I forgot to mention this: You will lose your hair. I realize that the picture that follows is incredibly disgusting, but I must make my point.

P1020160

This mass, neatly coiled and consolidated to save space,  is the hair I lost during JUST ONE SHOWER.

How do I have anything left on my head, you must wonder? So do I. It’s a miracle, really, when you multiply that amount of hair by however many days since I began losing it.

YOU. WILL LOSE. YOUR HAIR!

All that beautiful hair growth you accumulated during pregnancy, a time of reduced hair loss, will only make what happens afterward that much more shocking.

But, don’t worry. It’s normal, they say. There’s even a name for it: the Mass Exodus. As an added bonus, when it begins to grow back in normally you will be treated to a beautiful halo of fuzzies that will make you feel young nine again (Like when your mom cut your bangs way too short so she wouldn’t have to do it again for awhile. Right before every important social event in your young life.).

I guess some women don’t start losing hair until a few months postpartum, but mine started pretty early, within the first month for sure. Thankfully I’d heard about this phenomenon in a mommy group or I might have freaked when clumps began to show up in my hand every morning.

This loose hair caused all kinds of problems.  I’d be nursing Alex, just have gotten him to sleep, breathe a sigh of relief, and run my fingers through my hair….. What the-?! Hand full of hair. And then what was I supposed to do with all of it?? I couldn’t move for fear of waking the baby, the trash can was too far to reach, and even the floor was blocked by the pack and play….. Hair does not fly far enough when you try to throw it off your husband’s side of the bed, so what do you do? You can’t just leave bunches of hair flying around the bed to get wrapped around tiny baby fingers and toes.  …Someday when we move the bed, there is going to be a good-sized pile of hair behind the headboard on the left side, probably enough for a nice comfy nest or a sweet den for baby mice.

It’s now been nearly 5 months and the hairs keep falling. When it will stop?  No one seems to know. I guess I should probably look at the bright side. I’ve always had such thick thick hair that when I get it cut they never thin it enough the first time and (even though I TELL them) they always have to go back and do it again. Maybe that won’t be necessary for once. This is probably also an excellent time to go for one of those haircuts I knew I could never pull off before without my head looking like a muffin.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anjeanette A. Carter
    May 04, 2013 @ 18:25:09

    Mine is still falling out in ginormous clumps and my baby is nearly 10 months old, so… who knows when it stops!

    Reply

  2. Kendra
    May 07, 2013 @ 23:55:40

    You should see mine growing back!! Its so dark all around my face, definitely the 9 year old thing going on. I have some serious LONG sideburns going on. Don’t you worry!

    Reply

    • travelnole
      May 08, 2013 @ 01:41:34

      Oh, fantastic! I seriously can’t wait to see how much worse it gets. I just noticed today that maybe I shouldn’t put my hair up anymore because some spots are lookin’ kinda bare…..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

