Parenting Pet Peeves

Image

I’m feeling a bit peevish.  It’s most likely because my 3rd postpartum period is approaching, but don’t tell anyone.  Anyway, in honor of my foul mood, I’ve decided to list all of the things that make me super cranky lately.  They mostly have to do with parenting because my baby is all I think about nowadays (not totally true, but close).   And they ALL have to do with other people, because I can’t stand other people right now.  Ugh.

  1. When people ask if Alex is a “good baby”. Really?  Are there any “bad babies”??  I can understand the terms easy and difficult, but if you ask me if my baby is good, I’m going to look at you like it’s the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard (this week, anyway).
  2. When people tell me Alex is a dead ringer for my husband and then fall all over themselves apologizing like they think I’m going to be offended “Oh, I’m so sorry.  Don’t worry- the next one will look like you, I PROMISE!”  Seriously?  If my son looks like his dad, isn’t that a GOOD thing??
  3. When people take my baby out of my arms without asking.  Extra points if it’s someone I’m not sure I want holding him in the first place.  Next time I’m not letting go.
  4. When people with 3-year olds say stuff like “It gets SO much worse!”  Thanks.
  5. When people I’ve only just met ask really inappropriate questions, i.e. “Did you gain a bunch of weight while you were pregnant with him?”  No, did you?

That’s enough.  I know there are others, but it’s 1:30am and I feel guilty for not being in bed.  My poor husband has had to sleep in the same position with Alex for the past 2 hours or so.

Oh, wait.  Here’s another.  We have our windows open because we finally have great weather, and the neighbor’s teens and their friends have decided to have a hot tub party next door and talk really loud.  At 1:30am.  Really?  We do not want to hear all your stupid gossip about  “#1 I don’t have huge arms and #2 bla bla bla” while we’re trying to sleep.  I’d yell at them this instant, but I’d wake the baby.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laughingpromises
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 06:07:26

    I am right there with you! There’s a lady at church who is always sick and works with young (sick) children and always says “I’ll have to have a hold next week, ’cause there were a few sick kids at school this week.” And I want to be like, “No you can’t hold him EVAH!” Don’t need a sick baby added to my list.

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Apr 30, 2013 @ 22:01:41

      Haha,yeah! Hopefully you can continue to hold her off. 🙂

      Reply

      • laughingpromises
        Apr 30, 2013 @ 22:16:32

        I thought of another one this morning: When people say, “Oh look at those eyes!” immediately followed by, “You know they can change color anytime in the first 2 years, right?” as if it’s a horrible thing. I do love the blue color of Cody’s eyes, though. 🙂

      • travelnole
        Apr 30, 2013 @ 23:16:46

        haha! Well, I haven’t gotten that one yet, but there is a never ending discussion over “whose eyes he has”. I’ve totally stopped caring. 😛

  2. andi
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25:21

    haha i think the best punishment is to tell the truth. oh well i only gained 20 lbs and it took me 3 days to lose the weight. why? did you get really fat or something? and then blow a raspberry pbbbbbtttttttttttttt!!!!!! seriously it might be immature but it never fails to make me feel better 😀

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Apr 30, 2013 @ 22:05:02

      lol, wow, you’re so much meaner than I could ever be! She HAD gained a ton of weight, which I’m sure is why she asked, but it would have been less uncouth to lead with that fact. 🙂

      Reply

  3. andi
    May 03, 2013 @ 02:24:37

    Aww don’t say that I’m not really. I just get very defensively of my friends. I don’t like it when people give you crap about your weight. I wouldn’t really be mean except maybe later just with you while venting

    Reply

  4. Valerie
    May 03, 2013 @ 16:36:59

    LOL, I totally feel ya with these! Especially #1, I hated when people asked that! Or how about, “Is he/she a good sleeper?” Are they JUST trying to rub it in?! 😉 All newborns wake a lot. I would just respond with, “Well, he wakes to nurse…” duh! 😀
    Btw, feel free to stop by the weekend link-swapping blog party I’m hosting, if you want: http://atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/friday-blog-party-may-3/ 🙂

    Reply

    • travelnole
      May 03, 2013 @ 16:53:31

      Yeah, I think I’ve ranted about the sleeping question already or I would have included that. EVERYONE’S first question is about sleeping! My husband now just tells people that he totally sleeps through the night- sometimes 13 hours at a time! He wakes to nurse of course, but my husband has decided that doesn’t count, I guess. People’s faces really fall when he lays that out there, lol!

      Reply

  5. Kendra
    May 08, 2013 @ 00:07:59

    I’m totally guilty of having a 3 year old and saying stuff like that… :/ I will be extra careful to bite my tongue from now on! Although it doesn’t get worse.. just different. People say such dumb things all the time to me too. I thought it was just me!

    Also that picture – ADORABLE!!! What a sweet boy!

    Reply

    • travelnole
      May 08, 2013 @ 01:43:31

      Haha, well….. I’ll probably say such frightening things to new parents myself someday. Hopefully not, but it depends on how much worse it actually gets. 🙂 I know for some people it really does get worse. I’m thinking I’ll like it when Alex is able to communicate more, but I might be in for a big surprise. 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

