Sleeping Through The Night (aka What Everyone Seems To Care About Most)

“Is he sleeping through the night?” 

Why is this the first thing out of everyone’s mouth? I just read a great post by blogger Grumbles & Grunts on the subject (pretty funny; go check it out!) Anyway, I have gotten asked this question more than anything else. Like the typical pregnancy grilling, it’s not necessarily the question itself that irks me, but the frequency I am asked it. And how can I even really answer that if I don’t know your definition of “the night”? The actual official book definition is five hours, but I doubt most people consider that a night. So, if you’re wondering, he’s getting plenty of sleep and, someway somehow, so am I (That’s to answer the other FAQ: “Are you sleeping?” What are the possible answers to that question…. Let’s see: “no, I’m awake”, “yes, please don’t wake me up”, “no, never, and I’ve got one foot in the looney bin”, “yes, all the time, why?”).

I like the above blogger’s strategy of giving vague answers to people who don’t really have any business asking, so I think my new evasive answer will be “sometimes” or “I guess”. Or maybe, if I want to play dumb, I’ll just say “what do you mean?” and see where that takes us.

Don’t get me wrong, if my mom or my sister-in-law asks me this question, I’m not going to be all offended (I mean, let’s be honest, I spend 75% of my time asking myself this question too). I just don’t relish hearing it from people who really don’t care or those who only want to take the opportunity to impress upon me the incredible importance of sleep training at three months. Or from the woman at church who said “so are you following Babywise?”, assuming I had not only heard of it and read it, but would automatically do it, all of which I found disturbing.

Aaaaaad, I just got spit up on in bed, which I hate much more than the sleep question, so I’ll step off my silly soap box and go sop up….

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kendra
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 20:55:11

    This. I can so relate.
    Seriously, this bothered me so much more this second time around. I always just say, yes we are all sleeping! People hate that answer.
    And my mother in law… “well babywise says..” Or.. “It hasn’t been three hours since she last ate…” like for real?

    Reply

  2. travelnole
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 13:37:19

    Now I can’t wait for the next time someone asks me so I can try out my vague answers. I get some kind of evil joy from giving evasive answers to questions… Yeah, and what is it with Babywise? I didn’t realize it was such a “thing”. Now I feel inspired for my next post.

    Reply

  3. Jaclyn
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 15:46:01

    I hate this question too!! I feel like they are preparing to judge my baby an then give me advice. I have no desire to do sleep training because I think it’s a setup for disappointment and frustration. Lack of sleep just comes with the baby bundle and I’m ok with that. It’s temporary 😉

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Mar 05, 2013 @ 17:47:52

      yes, exactly. I’m not expecting Alex to sleep twelve hours without waking to eat, and I seriously don’t mind nursing during the night when he needs it, especially now that he’s sleeping for longer stretches. Soon enough I won’t get to wake up during the night and cuddle him while he goes back to sleep. Sometimes I seriously don’t want to lay him back down after he’s gone to sleep because his heavy sleepy little body feels so nice to hold. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

