Breakfast in Bed

My husband brings me breakfast in bed every morning. Yes! Isn’t he amazing?? I joke that I’ve really milked the breakfasts in bed from this whole pregnancy/birth thing (he did it while I was pregnant too!). It’s usually either raisin Ezekiel bread with almond butter and jelly or toaster waffles topped with almond butter and fruit. Pretty easy stuff that doesn’t take too long, but tastes delicious. Sometimes he brings me a banana too.

Because he does this, I’m able to just nurse Alex in the morning and, without ever getting out of bed, go back to sleep with him for the long morning nap he usually takes. I definitely need this nap (and another one later on) if I’m going to get through the day. From the time we go to sleep (usually around 11:30 pm, and I’m really not sure why it’s so late) to the time my husband wakes up around 6:30, Alex wakes up once or twice to nurse. I change his diaper each time, though I have noticed he pees a lot less at night and rarely poos during the night anymore (fine by me!).

Sometimes his nursing times are short (10 minutes), but usually they’re more like 30 minutes. When he’s done I try to keep him upright for 15 or 20 minutes so he spits up less and has less reflux. Anyway, by the time all this is done I’ve been awake for probably an hour. Thankfully, I usually have no trouble going back to sleep. 🙂

What’s my point here?…. I guess I just wanted to say that my husband is wonderful and that without the little things he does to make my life easier I’d be so much more tired than I am! I don’t function well on too little sleep. Maybe I’m too old to run on fumes. Some moms say that their bodies adjust and they are fine, but I don’t think I work that way.  Severe lack of sleep makes me angry- at Alex even- and that’s not ok with me. Between what nighttime sleep I get and the couple of naps I try to take each day with Alex, I do ok. I still rarely get more than a couple of hours sleep at a time, which is probably slowly driving me insane but….. I’m ok.

Sometimes I eat my waffles in near complete darkness and sometimes I drop my food on Alex. Yesterday morning I got some blueberries in his hair- whoops!  Someday, when I’m leisurely enjoying my breakfast in the kitchen, at the table, in the company of my husband- my Alex off at college somewhere- I’ll remember those mornings when I  cuddled him close and tried to eat waffles from a plate balanced on a white comforter and….. I’ll probably miss these times. 🙂

Leave a Reply

