The Nursery: Completed!

I seem to be having trouble finishing my birth story, but I’m really sad that I haven’t posted any blogs of substance for, oh, the seven weeks since Alex was born.  I feel like I need to post the birth story before I start blogging about life as a new parent, but I never posted pictures of the finished nursery, so I’ll take this opportunity to do that.  I actually used my husband’s camera to take these pictures, so they should be a whole lot better than my usually photo fare.  🙂

The crib, along with a few stuffed animal favorites.  The giraffe winds up and plays a song which I usually let Alex listen to while I go rinse his dirty diaper out in the bathroom.

The crib, along with a few stuffed animal favorites. The yellow giraffe winds up and plays a song which I usually let Alex listen to while I go rinse his dirty diaper out in the bathroom.

We got Alex one nightstand to match his dresser and crib/bed.  I keep all his teeny tiny little socks in the drawer.  The rocking chair was a gift from a former coworker.

We got Alex one nightstand to match his dresser and crib/bed. I keep all his teeny tiny little socks in the drawer. The rocking chair was a gift from a former coworker.

P1010180

This chair has been great for nursing!  It's really comfy, and Alex loves to look at the mural on the wall :)

This chair has been great for nursing! It’s really comfy, and Alex loves to look at the mural on the wall. 🙂

I bought this pretty little plant to hang.  Unfortunately, we were all so busy after Alex was born that no one watered it and... well, it's  a nice dried plant.  It actually looks kinda good dried, though, so I might just leave it there awhile....

I bought this pretty little plant to hang. Unfortunately, we were all so busy after Alex was born that no one watered it and… well, it’s a nice dried plant. It actually looks kinda good dried, though, so I might just leave it there awhile….

 

 

A better picture of the trees and birds I painted

A better picture of the trees and birds I painted

This lamp shade from IKEA was on sale for only a dollar (!) and matched the nursery perfectly.

This lamp shade from IKEA was on sale for only a dollar (!) and matched the nursery perfectly.

 

Another former coworker painted these for Alex (can anyone find the easter egg?)

Another former coworker painted these for Alex.

The onesies used to announce the pregnancy to my husband's family (he's already too big to fit into them!).  They say "I love Grandma" and "I love Grandpa" in Serbian.

The onesies used to announce the pregnancy to my husband’s family (he’s already too big to fit into them!). They say “I love Grandma” and “I love Grandpa” in Serbian.

A gift from my mother-in-law, this picture used to hang in my husband's room when he was a boy.

A gift from my mother-in-law, this picture used to hang in my husband’s room when he was a boy.

Alex will wear these red shoes with an outfit I bought him for church.

Alex will wear these red shoes with an outfit I bought him for church.

We bought a couple of simple shelves from IKEA and hung them on the wall in lieu of a bookcase.

P1010162

We bought a couple of simple shelves from IKEA and hung them on the wall in lieu of a bookcase.

This is the owl mobile I made from a stick from the woods and owls- some that I made and some that I bought.  the little yellow and brown owl was purchased at a yard sale for 10 cents.  :)

This is the owl mobile I made from a stick from the woods and owls- some that I made and some that I bought. the little yellow and brown owl was purchased at a yard sale for 10 cents. 🙂

P1010161

The dresser that we also use as a changing table. I like leaving the changing pad cover-less so I can just wipe it off when it gets dirty.

My husband decided that the cheapo trash can I bought to use as a diaper pail was sub par, so he upgraded to this fancy step-to-open one.... it is nice.

My husband decided that the cheapo trash can I bought was sub par, so he upgraded to this fancy step-to-open one…. it is nice.

P1010181

 

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andi
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 06:34:11

    yey! wow gorgeous! i really love the dark wood

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Baby Names and “Not Finding Out” | Natural Birth and Parenting

Leave a Reply

