Time For More Birth Videos!

I think it’s time.  More birth videos, and I’ve found a couple great ones!  Get your tissues out before watching these, especially if you’re preggers.  😛

Sweet water birth– the labor and birth is about half the video, and the last part is all the joyful celebration after- very cute!

Another water birth showing a lot of what happened right after the birth.  The baby’s older sister is just adorable in this video, and I loved seeing the placenta and the herbal bath mom and baby take afterward (something I’m planning to do).

Last night our doula loaned us More Business of Being Born, and we watched one of the five segment, the one about celebrity moms. It may sound like it would be… I don’t know, not so great, but it was FANTASTIC! I’d definitely recommend it for anyone wanting some good labor vibes and exposure to positive birth experiences. My husband actually ended up saying he is jealous because he won’t get to experience this in the way I will….. And he looked at me with all kinds of awe and love all over his face. Wow, thinking of labor and birth as a privilege instead of a chore is a really powerful thought!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laughingpromises
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 19:06:02

    Love these videos. I would love if you did a post on the herbal bath. I haven’t heard of that yet, but it sounds lovely.

    Reply

  2. andi
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 21:36:08

    awww the little girl is so adorable “dont cry baby romy…dont cry” aww

    Reply

  3. the heart & art
    Dec 06, 2012 @ 01:30:32

    I love watching birth videos. And I cry (even if I’m not pregnant). It’s so beautiful to see the miracle of life—Mommy and baby meeting for the first time. Also, it makes me sad I never hot to experience that. I had prepared with hypnobirthing classes and planned on a water birth. My dreams were shattered with an awful c-section due to placenta previa 😦

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Dec 06, 2012 @ 15:31:08

      That must have been so disappointing for you!! How did you deal with having a birth that was so different from what you envisioned? It has to be difficult to reconcile that in your mind. Do you plan to have more children? If so, I hope you will be able to have a different experience. I have heard that a lot of women who are able to have gentle natural births the second time around really experience it as a great healing from the disappointment and trauma of the first.

      Reply

  4. andi
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 13:48:02

    something interesting. new research is showing that women may actually produce more eggs
    http://www.butterflybirth.com/how-many-eggs-is-a-female-human-born-with/
    apparently they found stem cells in the overies that when cultured produced immature eggs. hope for people that may have not lived the healthiest life but changed things

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Dec 09, 2012 @ 23:52:17

      That’s really interesting! Would be nice to think that we could have some control over the health of our eggs instead of it all being up to how healthy our mother were when they made our eggs in us…..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

