Chiropractic Care and Pregnancy

I spent most of the last two weeks dealing with some persistent, and pretty severe at times, hip pain.  From my oh-so-proficient Googling, I’d figured out it was originating from my right sacroiliac joint, but after icing and staying off my feet for several days didn’t seem to work very well, I was getting frustrated and discouraged, afraid I’d struggle with this until the birth and be unable to even walk around the house to carry out simple chores (do you KNOW how frustrating that is in the middle of out-of-control nesting?!?)  😛

Then, like so many times during this pregnancy, God answered my prayers and sent me to just the right place to find help.  Both our doula and one of my friends recommended Dr. Dan, a chiropractor in our Metro Detroit area.  He is experienced in the Webster technique, which is used to correct any imbalance in the pelvis and is very successful in pregnancy for giving breech babies room to turn (86%) and for giving all babies room to get into an optimal position for birth.  I spoke to this Dr. on the phone when making my appointment and almost cried because he was SO nice and SO helpful even during that short phone call.  He described what he does, and I knew immediately that he could help me with my pain.  I think even just knowing that relief was in sight helped me to begin feeling a little better that night.

I had my first appointment with him the next day (Wednesday of last week, and my sweet husband left work early to drive me since I was not feeling well).  The visit was GREAT- he was very personable, even said hello to Baby, explained everything very thoroughly, took care to make sure I was comfortable, and gave us extra information and goodies about natural birth (his 4 children were born at home many years ago!).  He found that I had a “right Webster” in both front and back.   So that was the right sacroiliac joint and the right round ligament (maybe that’s why all my ligament pain has been on the right side this whole time??) not moving as freely as they should.  After his treatment, I felt better right away- still sore, but without the shooting pains I’d been experiencing with every step!  I was soooooo happy.

Thursday I felt even better. 😀

Friday, I went in for my second appointment to see how my body was handling the adjustment, and was already feeling almost as good as I had before this problem began.  He said there was still some interference and worked on me again.  I’m just so happy that #1 I feel SO much better and that #2 if he can get my pelvic joints all moving freely in the next few weeks, the birth should be faster and easier- maybe even less painful since I’m less likely to have a posterior baby and back labor if there is plenty of room in my pelvis and uterus.

I have my next appointment later today.

I found this fantastic article about chiropractic care and pregnancy written by a chiropractor in Burleson, Texas who frequently works with pregnant women (even during their labors) and has had great success.  It’s an excellent read, and I’d now really encourage anyone who’s pregnant to see a chiropractor!

While in Dr. Dan’s waiting room on Friday, another pregnant mom was in there (2 days until her due date!) and she told us the story of how her baby had been breech and then ended up turning after she got her pelvis adjusted- FANTASTIC!  😀  Stories like that make me feel so excited because #1 that’s another avoided cesarean section and #2 people are taking advantage of non-invasive treatments that work on the natural principles of the way our bodies function.  I am all about that. 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laughingpromises
    Nov 19, 2012 @ 17:09:22

    I’m going to a different chiropractor tomorrow morning that specializes in pregnancy, and I’m hoping she can help with my pelvis and maybe my baby will turn. Glad you found a good chiro and that he helped so much. Praise God!

    Reply

  2. andi
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 14:49:22

    i’m sooooo glad you are feeling better. i was a little worried you would be sore or uncomfortable the last couple weeks or so and that the birth would be stressful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

