Painting the Nursery: Birch Tree Wall Mural

I’ve known for awhile that I wanted a white birch tree on the wall of the nursery.  I just think they are fun and classy at the same time.  I considered decals, but when I saw the prices, I figured I have the minimum amount of artistic talent required to just paint it myself.  After we finished the grey walls and the striped accent wall, I set to work on the mural.

I had originally planned to paint the tree on this wall….

However, we already had the stripes and the curtains there, and putting the tree there as well just seemed too crowded.  Instead, I opted to paint the mural on the wall to the left of the door.  It was actually an entire blank corner, and the larger space allowed me to paint a bigger mural- 3 trees instead of 1!

I had a bunch of inspiration pictures, so I first narrowed them down to my top 3:

The common theme seemed to be flying birds and falling leaves, all of which I felt gave the scene a feeling of movement.  I printed the pictures out to look at while I painted.  I also found this picture, and wanted to try the technique to make the trees seem more real:

I spent some time thinking about the colors I wanted to use.  Originally I had planned to do the entire thing in plain white, but became convinced that doing the leaves in green would nicely tie the mural in with the rest of the room.  I drew the mural onto the wall with regular white chalk first.  This allowed me to easily “erase” with a damp paper towel until I had things just the way I wanted them.  It’s tough to see the chalk in the pictures, but here’s one anyway…..

Once everything was sketched out, I got started with the painting!  This was the fun part.

Once I finished the first coat, I actually waited about a week before doing the second coat because #1 all those leaves were really tiring to paint the first time, #2 I was worried that trying to match my wonderful lines on the second coat would be a huge pain, and #3 I was afraid I’d screw it up.  I finally did finish it though, and here it is!

My pictures are not top-notch, I realize, so it actually looks even better in real life, especially when you can see it with the striped wall!  I’m really really happy with the way it all turned out!  🙂 🙂 🙂

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laughingpromises
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 07:11:48

    Wow! You’re on a roll, Mama! It looks so so good. Well done. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

