Decorating the Nursery: Making No-Sew Curtains

I’d been searching for the perfect fabric for nursery curtains for a long time and, after my third trip to JoAnn’s Fabric with my paint chips, I had about given up hope. Again, I was kind of wishing we’d decided on yellow and grey because I found the most WONDERFUL yellow and grey fabrics EVERYWHERE! Then I decided to try Hobby Lobby… bingo!! Even though their selection is a lot smaller, somehow they had a lot more of what I wanted- and the fabrics I liked were even 30% off!

If I knew the gender, I could have chosen something with green, grey and pink like this:

But of course I don’t, so moving on.  I wanted fabric with green and grey in it. This one was fun, but I wasn’t sure if I wanted something with blue in it as well….


This one was way too much blue, I thought:


I thought this one was fun, but the colors were a little boring maybe….


This was interesting, but had too much black and was almost too girly at the same time:


I really love this chevron pattern, and if I knew we were having a boy I just may have gone with it.  They had it in yellow too 🙂


I REALLY liked this one but…. butterflies… too girly? I was afraid so…


In the end I narrowed it down to these two.  My sister liked the one on the right the best because of the blue, but I still wasn’t sure I wanted blue in the curtains (didn’t want to have a whole lot of colors in the color palette) and when I realized that the curtains would be against a grey wall, I chose the fabric on the left because I knew it would stand out more. Also, it’s just so bright and fun and cheerful, which is exactly what I’m going for 🙂


I don’t have a sewing machine (yet!), so I opted to make some no-sew curtains. I got some iron-on hem tape and ironed my hems. It still took a long time, but I didn’t have the sew them by hand or borrow a sewing machine. Plus, they look fantastic!


Another thing that made these curtains super-simple: I used clip-on drapery rings so I didn’t have to make loops or holes or that shaft thing in my curtains. That’s it! Ready to go!

They’re up!

I LOVE them! We have a light-blocking shade if we want it to be really dark, or we can raise the shade and close the curtains for some light filtering.


The colors in the fabric match the paint colors soooo well! We’ll get some better pictures later, but you can at least get the idea 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andi
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 22:56:04

    yey super cute. i was reading and when you said ashelle liked the polka dot better i was totally thinking i liked the one you chose better but i think thats because i like more movement and the polka dot felt really plain to me even with the colors

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Nov 12, 2012 @ 22:57:36

      Yeah, Ashelle just doesn’t like orange so much, so I think she would have chosen to pair green with blue instead 🙂

      Reply

  2. laughingpromises
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 17:34:54

    So so cute! I’ve been thinking to make some curtains for our front door and kitchen window, which are currently exposed. If I’m breastfeeding in the living room, I don’t want to feel like I have to cover up in case someone shows up at the door. Might just have to do what you’ve done, because they turned out really good!

    Reply

  3. gacoalition4childprotectionreform1
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 01:46:20

    how genious, I think I can do this lol and FRUGAL 🙂 right up my ally

    Reply

Leave a Reply

