Stretch Marks

I’ve been a little worried about stretch marks. I heard the creams don’t really prevent them, so I’ve been taking zinc instead. Anyway, last night my husband said he thought he saw some on me. I don’t really see them (not that I can see my whole tummy anymore anyway, ha!), so if they are there they are super faint, but you know what? I don’t really care so much anymore! I knew before getting pregnant that this experience would change my body and I am ok with that. Which is why I love this post by fellow blogger laughingpromises.

laughingpromises

Before getting pregnant, I hated the thought of getting stretch marks,  I already had a few from puberty, but they were light enough that they didn’t bother me.  I think pregnancy stretch marks worried me because they get so dark. 

Fast forward to yesterday.  I stood in front of the mirror observing my naked pregnant body in awe of what God has created it to do, and I noticed a few new stretch marks very low on my tummy (below the bump).  The side stretch marks that I already had are darkening and becoming more pronounced.  I looked at them and felt nothing but pride. 

They are the marks of love, of hard work, of new life.  They mark the end of a beautiful chapter and the beginning of a new adventure.  They are like tiger stripes that I’ve earned with aches, pains, emotional ups and downs, nausea, and more…

View original post 34 more words

Leave a Reply

