Third Trimester: 31 Weeks, 2 Days

I figured it was time for me to post again.  I’m firmly in the third trimester and, while it’s definitely my favorite trimester so far, there are some differences that I’m beginning to see more and more.  Baby is running out of room in there.  He feels like a huge sea creature roiling just under the surface.  Sometimes his kicks and punches really kinda hurt now, and yesterday I could have sworn he was trying to get out (from my vagina).  Yeah, I know that if I was actually delivering a baby I’d know for sure, but I felt some REALLY STRONG punches in my cervix/vagina area and it felt like he was going to just drop out!  Hehe.  Also, I’m big.  And getting bigger.  People (besides my husband) are actually every once in awhile commenting on my bigness.  Finally.  Although yesterday my dental hygienist called her coworker in to “see how tiny” I was….  I know they were just wishing they could be this small during their pregnancies, but sometimes I feel a little offended, thinking “Hey!  This is HUGE for me!  I’m running into stuff with my tummy!”

Baby has also been hitting more nerves lately (and my bladder, of course).  Yesterday I was in the store and my right leg kept giving way under me, accompanied by a short sharp shooting pain.  No idea what the heck that was, but it’s definitely new.  I’m still have tons of Braxton Hicks contractions.  My midwife suggested that I drink a whole lot of pregnancy tea for the extra calcium (might decrease Braxton Hicks), and the other benefits (she and the assistant midwife believe it shortens labor), so I’m drinking about a quart a day.  I make it ahead of time in mason jars (I bought a BUNCH of bulk herbs earlier in my pregnancy) and keep it in the fridge for up to 5 days.  I’m using red raspberry leaf, stinging nettle, rose hips, spearmint, and alfalfa.  I’ll probably do another short post describing the fast easy way I’ve found to make the tea, as well as my “recipe”.  Other symptoms of late: more trouble sleeping, sometimes pretty good pain at my old endo site during a contraction (may depend on the baby’s position or my position or how worn out I am?), some sinus congestion during the night, sore belly sometimes, increasingly frequent need to pee, leaky nipples at times (considering starting to use my washable breast pads….), growing boobs again (my husband says, anyway), absolutely no waist, can’t see the bottom of my tummy and beyond (how the HECK am I supposed to shave my bikini line blind???), increased body temperature at night, nesting frenzy (yesterday I cleaned the fridge top  to bottom and can’t wait to do the freezer today), and I’ve started dropping everything (my friend asked me about this yesterday and I said no, but later when I thought about it…. yeah, I dropped my water 3 times just walking to the car).

If I could redo this pregnancy blog, I’d probably do things differently- be a little more organized, maybe post once a week like I’ve seen some women do, and be sure to list symptoms and things at every stage.  Ah, well.  It’s my first time 🙂  Lately, I’ve had lots of eloquent stuff to say, but it always comes to me when I’m shopping or in the shower or similarly away from my computer.  Then, when I am at my computer, I end up obsessively looking up baby paraphernalia again.  That’s my driving force lately- GET ALL THE BABY STUFF!  I want to finish that nursery, get the furniture in, get all the baby stuff and get it organized, and THEN I think I’ll feel ready to birth this baby.  I know I’m probably focusing on these tangible accomplishments because the more intangible ones (practice relaxing, be in shape, be at peace with pushing a penguin through a pinhole) feel a little overwhelming.  I also want to get our birth plan written- not just for our home birth, but on the rare chance that we’d end up in a hospital.  I don’t want the anxiety in that situation that the perfect stranger then surrounding me would have no idea what my wishes were!  I have a good template to go on, and I’ve pretty much worked out things in my mind (and my husband and I agree on what we want), but I just need to actually write it down so we can go over it together and then polish it.

We’re through half the sessions in our birth class now and, I have to say, they have been excellent!  Here’s the link to the description of our class.  It’s half about labor and delivery, half about postpartum and parenting.  I don’t have the energy to talk more about it right now, except to say that my husband and I have both really enjoyed it.  My mom even got to attend a session with us when she came up for our shower.  She and my sister both got to meet our midwife, too, which really made me happy!  The best part of that, besides hearing our midwife explain some things to my mom about her birth experience when I was born, was when they got to hear the baby’s heartbeat on the Doppler.  My mom videotaped it for my dad and I could tell everyone was feeling emotional over that wonderful little sound.  🙂  Yep, there’s a little human being in there.  Still hard for me to believe sometimes.  I try to wrap my mind around it nightly while soaking my bath, but it feels impossible!  I know it’s just going to hit me all at once when we pull that little one out and I make eye contact with my son or daughter for the first time and realize: I’M A MOTHER!  What a surreal feeling that will be!

Our shower was amazing!  My mother in law really went out of her way to make sure the food and decorations were outstanding, and my mom and sister did a wonderful job with games and activities for the guests.  I kinda felt teary when I first got there and saw the beautiful setup.  It made me feel really special, and made me feel that our baby is really special to people already.  I loved it.  I did feel a little overwhelmed after all the people got there and my husband was upstairs watching baseball with the other men.  I asked him to come down and eat with me for awhile, and then I felt better 🙂  I just don’t like to be the center of attention for very long.

I have a few more things to say, but I need the bathroom and a nap, so I’m just going to post this now.  I’m counting down the weeks, ladies!  🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

