Round Ligament Pain Nightmare

So I know that when the round ligament (which supports the uterus) gets stretched out, it can cause pain.  The ligament can also irritate surrounding nerves.  I’ve been experiencing round ligament pain since the early part of second trimester, usually as a dull ache after standing or walking for more than an hour (more recently, anything more than 30 minutes) and occasionally as a sharper pain when I sneeze or move the wrong way.  HOWEVER, yesterday morning when I emerged from the car to walk into church, I had such an intense pain in my right side that I couldn’t even stand up straight.  My first thought (hope), since I’d never felt this before, was that it was a major gas bubble that would pass soon.  I hobbled into church and made a beeline for the bathroom.  Unfortunately, however,  that didn’t help.  I felt better when I sat down in the pew, but every time I had to stand (why are we constantly up and down in church anyway?) it was extremely painful.  And that has been the story of my entire weekend.  I ended up leaving a family gathering yesterday to come home and curl up in bed.  I slept for over two hours and did feel better while I was lying there, but as soon as I tried to stand up… BAM!  Pain that started around my right ovary and extended along my hip all the way into my right lower back.  It’s crippling.  During the night I also experienced the same pain whenever I peed.  Pretty intense.  That part has eased off today, thankfully.

I researched all the different stuff that this could be and I’m pretty sure it’s some bad round ligament pain, but I thankfully have my prenatal exam tomorrow and can discuss this agony with my midwife.  The one thing I’m worried about is that my husband will be gone on a business trip all week, so I’ll be on my own, including driving myself to my appointment.  I think I’ll be ok, but I wish he could be here.  Why is the ligament pain so so bad all of a sudden?  I’ve been asking myself that.  All did was sit in the car and then get out (slowly and carefully like I always do).  I do know that I really overdid it last week.  I was super busy- both at work and after- and I got very very sore and tired every day.  Maybe that was it.  Or maybe it was foolish to try to wear heels to church.  No more heels for me, I think.  Boo.

Anyway, I didn’t know round ligament pain could get this bad, but it feels a lot like having a bad stitch in my side (and back)- one that doesn’t go away until I lie down or sit (and even then the soreness lingers).  It sucketh.  Today is maybe a little better.  By that I mean that about 50% of the time, if I prepare myself correctly, I can stand up straight and walk fairly normally without wanting to cry.  I’m being extremely careful with my movements and trying not to stay in one position for too long.  I’ve been pushing baby to the left all day.  The little angel likes to hang out on the right side.  Not sure why, but I guess it’s common for the uterus to be tipped to the right.  Whatever the reason, it makes sense that there would be more strain on the right side of my ligaments.  That’s also the side I had endo on and the side that I almost always feel the achy ligament pain on.  I’ll have to ask my midwife if there might be an endo connection.

Can anyone relate to my experience?  I know they say that round ligament pain should always subside within a few minutes, but I’ve found plenty of people in forums saying that it lasted for hours or longer for them.

Oh, I also tried The Inversion from Spinning Babies, and it did help somewhat, albeit temporarily.  I’m going to keep doing every day, though, because it can only help and will also help my baby to eventually get into a good position for labor.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chronicpainsurvivor
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 07:57:13

    Thank you for sharing your blog! I too suffered Endo and found the side I’d had most surgery on caused similar types of pain. If you are unable to get any answers for your pain ask your treating physician about the pudendal nerve and whether the extra pressure could be causing the discomfort? This can occur during pregnancy, Endo etc. I have a post on my blog that describes the symptoms but many physicians have little knowledge when diagnosing. Hopefully it’s just all that natural stretching as Bub grows 🙂

    Health & Happiness

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Aug 30, 2012 @ 14:39:07

      Yeah, I’m finding that I probably know more about my condition than my health providers. Even my midwife didn’t really know much about endo, but did tell me I could massage the area to try to loosen up any scar tissue sooner. THANKFULLY the discomfort in that area is much much abated! Wearing a support belt really helps and gives me some extra mileage each day before I begin to feel really sore each day 🙂 Thanks for your comment and support!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

