Vaccinations?

Nothing gets parents up in arms more than discussion over the decision to vaccinate or not to vaccinate their children.  It’s a touchy subject that brings out strong emotions in almost any parent, no matter which way they side.  And it’s understandable because we’re talking about the health and safety of the ones we love and care about the most.  Throw in the fact that our children depend on us to make these big decisions before they’re able to make them for themselves, and you’ve got a red-hot button to push.

As with any important parenting decision, the first step is to educate yourself.  I’ve found a couple of sites listing what I think are the best/most comprehensive arguments for each viewpoint.  I’d love to hear what my readers think about vaccines and what they’ve decided for their own children.

10 Reasons Why Parents Choose Not To Vaccinate

Why Vaccinate?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laughingpromises
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 20:03:40

    I have a hard time with this one. I mean, on the one hand, I don’t want anything toxic going into my baby’s body (and vaccines are FULL of toxins). On the other hand, do I risk not vaccinating them and having them get deathly sick? I suppose my stance at this stage is maybe vaccinating them, but spreading the vaccinations out instead of doing them all in one go like they try to schedule now. If it’s well spread out, the child’s body has a chance of getting rid of those toxins and not being on override. That’s what I’m thinking at this stage.

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Jul 16, 2012 @ 21:19:21

      Yeah, this is a sticky decision, and one that you have to make pretty much right away since they vaccinate babies. That makes it very stressful for me! I think your decision is a good compromise between the two if you don’t want to go fully one way or the other. The problem is that neither decision is free of risk. Frustrating.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

