Seventeen+ Weeks Pregnant and The Baby Is Moving!

So, my happiest news of the week is that I FOR SURE felt this baby move on Tuesday morning, one day after the seventeen week mark.  I woke up early, my uterus was really sticking out like a hard ball, so I put my hand on it and- voila!  There was a kick!  And then several more!  It was so exciting that I woke my husband up to tell him.  He tried to feel it too, but didn’t think he did.  Anyway, I thought it strange that I had felt it with my hand first because they always say you can just feel it inside before anything, but I think my hand helped me to concentrate my attention on that one spot.  Also, I knew for certain that I was feeling the baby since my uterus was so prominent at the time.  The next night I actually woke up in the middle of the night to feel for some kicks and was rewarded with one.  Then I went back to sleep, lol.

Anyway, by today (Saturday), I was feeling a little sad  that I hadn’t felt a lot during the week.  When we got home after driving back from lunch at my in-laws’ house, I lay down on the couch, felt my uterus in that same little ball, and immediately felt a few little kicks.  The best part was the my husband felt some too- really strong ones!  And while he had his hand on my tummy I could definitely feel them as well every time they happened.  I think I just really need to be concentrating to notice them.  I’m sure I’ll feel them more and more though now that I know what they are 😀  It’s so fun.  I could feel those little movements for hours, I think, and enjoy every one!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Seventeen Week, Five Day Pregnancy Bump! « Natural Birth
  2. laughingpromises
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 19:33:42

    Yay, movement! I can’t wait for that. I thought I was feeling some, but not so sure now. When the midwife had the doppler out, she said my heartbeat was everywhere, so I might just be feeling my pulse lol. Anyway, I’m looking forward to knowing it’s the baby. So excited for you!

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Jul 14, 2012 @ 21:52:23

      I always feel the heartbeat in my fingers whenever I try to feel for kicks. The baby, though, feels like this: If you put your hand on your cheek and then lightly tap the inside of your cheek with your tongue. That’s how I demonstrated it to my husband, lol! It’s more irregular than heartbeats or gas.

      Reply

  3. andi
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 09:20:53

    thats sooo exciting. just think that used to be the first real signs for a woman that something living was in there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

