Panic About Post-pregnancy

image

This morning my mom and I did what we’ve done most mornings during our visit: walk down the path through the woods to the creek and sit on the swing. Today we ended up taking about breastfeeding schedules and it sort of hit me that, despite all the reading and research I’ve done regarding pregnancy and birth, I’ve done very little thinking and reading about different types of parenting and stuff like that. I guess I was holding off until I was actually pregnant. Well- news flash! -I’m actually pregnant! Furthermore, in little more than six months this baby will be a newborn and I will be a new mom! What kind of mom will I be?

I’ve already thought about a few things (I’m not one of those co-sleeping parents, for example, and my goal is to breastfeed for 18 months), but there is so much more to think about! Will I put the baby on a feeding schedule right away or feed her when she seems hungry? Would I use a three-hour schedule or four? How long before the baby starts sleeping in his nursery every night? When will we introduce other liquids? What kind of diapers will we use? Will we use a pacifier?  When will we start taking the baby out in public, like to church and stuff? Will we let her sleep as much as she wants during the day?

I do still have a few months to figure some of these things out, I guess, but I really did have a moment of panic today. Oh crap, I’m not ready!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. averagechildhood
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 14:52:29

    It’s nice to daydream about those things – kind of like dreaming about your husband and wedding day when you are young. But just like you might fall in love with someone completely unlike who we invisioned, your baby will let you know what it wants! Be flexible!

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Jun 01, 2012 @ 20:31:00

      You’re right- I need to be in a flexible state of mind. I would like to have an initial plan for some of these things, though. Just a starting point 🙂

      Reply

  2. hslagle
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 22:14:56

    I recommend Dr. Jack Newman’s book. The Ultimate Breastfeeding book of Answers. It was probably one of the best books on breastfeeding. His website’s articles are amazing. My first child I had a horrible time nursing, then I read his stuff and my next child was a breeze! (on a side note, nursing is supply and demand- so when you put a “timed schedule” on nursing, you may jeopardize supply.

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Jun 02, 2012 @ 16:42:23

      Thanks for the recommendation- I’ll have to look for that one! I haven’t thought that much about the feeding schedule thing yet. The only reason it’s on my radar is that my mom said it’s what she did with me (every three hours from 7am to 10pm), per her pediatricians recommendation, and it worked really well because I got used to eating at those times and then began to sleep through the night fairly quickly because I had had enough calories during the day. I’m excited to begin reading more about breastfeeding though. I was also pleasantly surprised to learn that my mom breastfeed me for at least 18 months, which is what I’ve already decided I want to do.

      Reply

  3. laughingpromises
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 07:29:55

    Oh my goodness, I know just what you mean! I’ve had a few moments where I’ve felt overwhelmed at all the decisions we have to make! Strollers and car seats and what kind of diapers and that’s not even mentioning different parenting techniques! Aaaah! lol oh well, we have awhile, and I figure that’s partially what our Moms are around for…and I think some of it will just be a “figure it out as we go” thing.

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Jun 02, 2012 @ 16:47:02

      Yeah, moms are great for that stuff, I think. And I’m sure it will still be a lot of trial and error even with good advice because every mom and baby are different. Should be fun! 🙂 I can’t even look at carseats and such yet though because I’ve felt so overwhelmed with just surviving nausea!

      Reply

  4. andi
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 00:48:26

    we were walking downtown tonight and it was so pretty and we started talking about houses and how many bedrooms and if we would need a nursery and we want you guys to come visit. you would love savannah 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

