Sometimes Pregnancy Sucks

Woo-hoo! Made it through another day at work without losing the contents of my stomach!!…

Thinking back to my pregnant self of early last week, who thought “I’m going to have an easy pregnancy!” I shake my head and shout “YOU FOOL! You were only getting started!”

Last Tuesday night I got sick with a nasty cold, and it was difficult to distinguish sick symptoms from pregnancy symptoms, but somewhere between then and now, nausea has arrived with backup and decided to have an all-day party (curse the idiot who decided to call it “morning sickness”). In addition, fatigue has hit like a ton of bricks. I must have slept for at least 40 hours this weekend and I still woke up yesterday morning feeling like a sack of moldy bricks. Ugh. I seriously never knew that a person could feel so tired, especially AFTER getting so much sleep! Today was admittedly better on the fatigue end, perhaps because I took a walk around the building at lunch time. I took the walk, however, because I thought if I didn’t get some fresh air I might not keep my lunch where it belonged. I wanted to eat my food so badly, but I had to nibble ever so slowly and then abandon the last bite completely. I spent most of the day chanting “Breath deeply, don’t throw up. Breath deeply, don’t think about or look at or smell anything gross.” Still, today was better than yesterday, when all I could think was, “When is the first trimester over again???!! Will I make it??!!” One of the kids smelled oddly and I really couldn’t sniff out the source without ultimately contributing….

Fruit is my new best friend. I had a snack of grapes mid-morning (didn’t even declare snack time- just absconded to the kitchen and washed up a bowl of grapes), and it did make me feel better (even though most of them were wrinkly). Sadly, I ate the last pear yesterday, and my husband ate the last grapefruit, which brings the fruit count in this house to nil (minus lemons and limes). I’m so glad we get fresh organics delivered because #1 they arrive today and #2 the thought of going to the grocery store with all the food and people smells just sounds like torture.

So, the moral: Pregnancy can kick your butt!! They aren’t kidding when they talk about this stuff (they must not be kidding when they talk about giving birth either- eeeeeeeek). On the bright side, at least I haven’t had the urge lately to take another pregnancy test just to “make sure I’m still pregnant”. Heh.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laughingpromises
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 06:26:42

    Aw, I’m so sorry you’re feeling bad! I mean, I’m glad in some ways for you, because I know that means you’re pregnant and the hormones are kicking in! However, I hope you get relief in the second trimester or find some home remedies that help. šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Apr 25, 2012 @ 09:02:24

      Thanks šŸ™‚ You know, I read in some book last night that women who have nausea are less likely to miscarry and I was like “bring on the nausea!” but I’m seriously rethinking that this morning šŸ˜› Still, it’s a nice thought that it’s a “safe-baby” sign…..

      Reply

  2. andi
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 23:14:40

    i’ve heard hard pregnancy means easy birth but i suppose that could just be those poor women trying to comfort themselves šŸ˜› lol

    i have never been pregnant but i remember what i felt like when i stupidly took three birthcontrol pills because i forgot two days in a row. omg it was horrible and i thought “do i ever want to get pregnant?”

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:09:06

      Lol! You probably know how I’m feeling right now then! But when you’re pregnant you do at least have a very happy reason for feeling so sick šŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

