Book Review: Making Babies

 

I LOVE this book!  I went to my local library this week and checked out a bunch of books about trying to conceive.  I started with the book Making Babies by Sami S. David, M.D. and Jill Blakeway, LAc.  He’s a traditional medical practitioner and she’s a licensed acupuncturist.  Together they have created what may be the most fantastic book available for anyone who is trying to get pregnant.  I absolutely love the philosophy and general tone of the book and have thus far found  their advice to be excellent.  I’m only halfway through but I’m so excited about what I’m reading that I can’t wait to tell everyone!  There are sections for all the areas you must consider when you are preparing your body for the important task of reproduction- including diet, exercise, nutritional supplements, and emotional health.  The book begins by discussing some fertility basics, and then goes on to describe some fertility “types”- Tired, Dry, Stuck, Pale, and Waterlogged- and  then gives advice catered to each type. You should definitely read the descriptions for the different types, but I also found it helpful to go take the type quiz on their website.  I’m the Stuck type.

Even if you think you’ve heard it all, you may learn something new from this book.  There are some surprising strategies you can use to help boost fertility that I had never heard of before- such as eating lots of pineapple after ovulation to help with implantation.  The book helped me to feel encouraged that even if we end up having problems conceiving, I have a resource to turn to.  I also really enjoyed the section about charting your BBT and other ways to pinpoint ovulation.  I never knew there could be so many signs of ovulation!  The complex interplay of hormones is absolutely fascinating for me, and reminds me what a beautiful miraculous process birth is from start to finish.  I feel like keeping a BBT chart would be so interesting that I really wish I’d read this book several months ago and had started charting back in November or December!

If you’re choosing a prenatal vitamin, the book really lays out what you should look for, as well as what other supplements you might want to additionally consider.  The last part of the book addresses potentially fertility problems in more detail.

Making Babies is so good that I would recommend it as good reading even for people who just want to improve their general health- regardless of any plans to conceive!  The authors are very realistic concerning a person’s ability to do everything right all the time.  In fact, they state throughout the book that “80% is perfection”, and I love that.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laughingpromises
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 07:26:36

    This is the first book I bought, and I love it too! I love all the practical information and things that are within my control that it points out. I hope it helps us both! 🙂

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Mar 04, 2012 @ 22:13:28

      Yeah, I just found it really encouraging because, like you said, there are so many things you can easily do yourself. Good luck to you! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

