Making Babies in Tahoe

So we get to Tahoe and go to dinner with our friends first thing. There are two other couples- one of the wives is in her mid thirties and the other is my age, thirty. I don’t know either of these couples as well as my husband does- I’ve only met the younger couple once before. There was supposed to be another couple we’d never met, but when we asked where they were, we were told that they “went and got themselves pregnant”. My husband and I looked at each other sheepishly thinking that we almost did the same thing.

Almost as soon as we sat down in the restaurant, the conversation turned to making babies. Apparently the younger couple is actively trying to conceive, and have been since we saw them here last year. In fact, they got pregnant the second month, but then miscarried at eight weeks. She said this was the most horrible experience to be so excited about the baby and then lose it, something she “wouldn’t wish on her worst enemy”. Yikes. Right after my fear of not being able to conceive is my fear of miscarriage. Since her miscarriage, our friend has been doing lots of reading about fertility and informed us that, in her thirties, a woman has only a fifteen percent chance of conceiving each month, as opposed to fifty percent in her thirties and closer to ninety percent in her teens (I have not personally verified these statistics). Wow. I felt like I did NOT need to hear that. Or maybe I did. Maybe I need to keep my expectations low.

On the other hand, there are so many variables effecting fertility besides age. I have to just do what I can to improve my fertility health, give us the best chance each month, and trust that God will give us a baby at the perfect time.

This month is officially the first “try”. Because I had such a short cycle last month, though, I’m a little nervous about knowing when I’m fertile. Thus far, I haven’t tracked my temperature or anything like that. I did notice the mucus signs last month (though I didn’t take them seriously as I should have), so maybe I can tell that way. I ALWAYS know when I’ve already ovulated because the endo pains start right on the dot every single time. By then, however, most of my fertile days have passed.

By my calculations, I will certainly ovulate sometime between this Saturday and the next Wednesday. That means I could have been fertile all this week starting Monday…. Unfortunately sharing a room with another couple isn’t the most ideal situation for baby-making…. But we’re doing our best 😀 Today we are actually leaving Tahoe for the next phase of our vacation- Yosemite. I’d be cool with making a Yosemite baby 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katery
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 17:32:58

    we had to find a way to do the deed once when we were in chicago with my husband’s daughter (now 14), it was charming. she was in the same room as us. we had to send her off to have a bath while we hurried it up.

    Reply

  2. andi
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 14:13:19

    15%?!? now i really feel like i need to get started yikes

    Reply

    • travelnole
      Apr 22, 2012 @ 14:46:07

      Yeah, that statistic freaked me out a little as well. I think early thirties still isn’t that bad, though. When I read the book that girl was referencing, I didn’t actually see the 15% statistic. Maybe she got it wrong 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

